District AIDS Prevention & Control Unit (DAPCU)


As a major structural reform, the management of HIV prevention and control programme was decentralised to district level during the third phase (2007-12) of National AIDS Control Programme-III in the years 2008-09. Using the HIV Sentinel Surveillance data (2004-2006), all the districts in the state were divided into four categories (Category A, B, C and D) based on the disease burden. As per this, there were 1 Category A, 6 Category B, 10 Category C and 15 Category D districts (total 32 districts) across the State that required priority attention. DAPCUs were established in 7 of the 33 districts to provide programmatic oversight through decentralized facilitation, monitoring and coordination of HIV/AIDS programme activities in the district.


DAPCU structure and roles:  DAPCU is the eye and ears of State AIDS Control Societies (SACS) with a cross cutting management structure that coordinates with all the HIV facilities in the district.  The DAPCU is headed by a Dy. CMHO (Health). S/he is supported by a team of five people hired on a contractual basis as shown in the diagram. The major responsibility of DAPCU is facilitation, monitoring and coordinating NACP activities at the district and sub- district level by integrating with the health system to the extent possible for better synergy and optimal results. DAPCUs, through active engagement of the district administration engages allied line departments and private sector in mainstreaming the programme and initiates district-specific initiatives by leveraging local resources. This helps in linking vulnerable population with various social entitlement and welfare schemes. DAPCU staff builds the capacity of the facility staff, monitor the referrals and linkages through regular supervisory visits to HIV facilities and monthly review meetings, addresses supply chain management issues through inter and intra-district transfers and make troubleshoot visits, wherever necessary.


DAPCUs are functional in following A and B category districts


Sr. No. District Category
1 Ganganagar A
2 Ajmer B


4 Barmer B
5 Jaipur B
6 Tonk B
7 Udaipur B